Duty is Primary, Karma is Secondary

Duty is moral or legal obligation of an individual or subject. When you say “I am doing my duty”, it just means that you are doing your Dharma. Duty and livelihood are different things. While work and livelihood defines what an individual does to make ends meet, Duty is something which the individual performs on… Read more »

Who is a Guru?

Guru is the Sanskrit term for “Teacher”. Someone who propagates knowledge to his disciples is often referred to as “Guru”. Guru is not an acronym for master or someone who is very skilled in a craft (as used in popular culture). The theoretical meaning of Guru is – “Gu” (darkness) + “Ru” (Rudra which means… Read more »

Stages in a Man’s Life and Duties in each stage

When defining the “Dharma” of an individual, Hinduism uses “Varna” as one metric and “Ashram” (stage) as another. Varna decides the duties of an individual on a broad level while “Ashram”(stage) decides the duties on a narrow level. Dharma of an individual is thus a byproduct of what his varna is and what stage in… Read more »

Why is Goddess Lakshmi always seen sitting next to Lord Vishnu’s feet?

The Indian way is subjective and symbolic while the western way is logical, objective, mathematical and conclusive. If a woman sits next to a man’s feet, we automatically deduce something is wrong there and question. Why? Because we automatically consider “Feet” as “derogatory”. This is the western lens which has taught you to be “tangible”…. Read more »

Why Shiva was always high on marijuana being a god?

Shiva is a Tapasvi. Unlike Vishnu and Brahma, he is the one who has outgrown “Hunger” and “drive”. Brahma’s drive is to create. He has hunger. Vishnu’s drive is to preserve. He has hunger Shiva has no drive. He is the greatest of Tapasvis and is mostly lost in his Tapasya. He is the “Ishvar”… Read more »

What do the 10 heads of Ravan in Hinduism signify?

Ravana’s ten heads is a metamorphication of his knowledge of the six shastras and the four Vedas. Namely: Sankhyashastra (Mathematics) Yog Shastra (Yoga as a way of life, meditation) Nyayashastra (Law and administration) Vaisheshik Shastra (Physics, astronomy, mechanics) Purvamimansa (Philosophy, Justification) Uttar Mimansa Shastra Rigveda Yajurveda Samveda Atharvaveda. His original name is “Dashagriva” (a monster… Read more »